Getting lost in Charleston South Carolina

Okay, so I’ll be the first one to admit that whenever I speak of getting lost I am really just talking about finding the best restaurants, cafés, cupcake shops, bakeshops, ice cream parlors, and beaches. So there,this entire post is going to be about beaches, great food, delicious coffee, and did I mention lots of warm sunshine.

IMG_3327.JPG

In between working on our new record TONES, touring the US, and being road warriors with The Bergamot I found a four day respite in our schedule. So we (check our story here) headed down to Charleston, South Carolina.

I have to admit coming from Brooklyn, New York I was little bit skeptical about Charleston. I thought that it would be cool but would not compare to New York.

In actuality I was trying to make sure my expectations were in check with my reality because as we darn well know “happiness is reality minus expectations“. I found myself keeping my expectations in check upon arrival.

Boy-oh-boy was I surprised when we arrived in Charleston. First off, the city is beautiful, clean, historic, vastly Parisian, steeple filled, and the folks sure are fine. How could you not help but fall in love with those perfectly inviting palmetto trees that stand tall and proud as Charleston’s most beloved city symbol.

Then there’s beaches, oh perfect pristine beaches for miles and miles. The first day we went to Folly Island I saw a pack of dolphins then I thought to myself, “this place is surreal it is November 6th, 87 degrees and I am watching a pack of dolphins galavant in the Atlantic ocean.”

 

IMG_3093.JPG

 

Here is a comprehensive list of my favorite places in Charleston.

1. Black Tap Coffee

IMG_2959.JPG

2. Sweet Radish Bakeshop

IMG_3078.JPG

3. 167 Raw

IMG_2940.JPG

4. Bowens Island Restaurant

IMG_2999.JPG

IMG_3019.JPG

IMG_3046.JPG

IMG_3030.JPG

5. Jeni’s Splendid Ice Cream Shop

IMG_3115.JPG

IMG_3050.JPG

IMG_3096.JPG

6. Folly Beach

IMG_3109.JPG

IMG_2977.JPG

IMG_2967.JPG

7. Our friend Cate’s lovely home. We love you Cate, thanks for a great four days.

IMG_2958.JPG

IMG_2950.JPG

IMG_2995.JPG

8. Sugar Bakeshop

IMG_3072-0.JPG

IMG_3068.JPG

IMG_3064-0.JPG

IMG_3077.JPG

9. The Taco Spot

IMG_3061.JPG

IMG_3063.JPG

Leave a Reply

