THE BEST CHOCOLATE BROWNIE RECIPE

Image

It was finals week 2008 I was at my tipping point. From cramming, writing, bloodshot eyes, and if I recall correctly I was hangry, (yep hangry = hungry + angry my friend Dena told me that one a few summers ago, thanks Dena).

But, I digress. So, I found my way into the local bookstore and was like well I might as well take a break so I started looking around and stumbled upon this recipe from  The Greyston Bakery Cookbook: More Than 80 Recipes to Inspire the Way You Cook and Live.

By golly, I fell in love and it was not even first bite. The following recipe I have made dozens of times at countless parties, small gatherings, and potlucks and every time I get this question, “Jillian where did you find this recipe?” Now my secret is out, it is all yours.

Spread the love, and do send me an email when you make it to tell me what you think – jillian@thebergamot.com

Please find out more about this remarkable bakery at this website ///  Greyston If you do not bake please order yourself a box of these or gift them to a friend and know you are supporting a noteworthy cause.

/// Greyston Brownies ///

TIP: Bake these while listening to The Bergamot’s New Album Static Flowers 

  • 1 cup unbleached all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened coco powder
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 3/4 c. unsalted butter which = 1 1/2 sticks
  • 1 1/2 c. sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 TB vanilla ext
  • 7 oz divided of high quality bitter sweet chocolate roughly chopped  and 1 oz bitter sweet chocolate finely chopped
Place a rack in center of oven and preheat to 325 F grease with butter a 9X 13 baking pan and line it with parchment paper, leaving about 1inch of paper over hanging the 2 long sides of the pan.
Inn a bowl , whisk together the flour, cocoa powder, and salt to blend . set aside in the bowl of an electric mixer set to medium speed and beat butter and sugar together then add eggs one at a time stir in vanilla. Gradually mix in dry ingredients until well combined.
Stir in 1/2 chocolate chip chunks.
Spread the batter eventfully in the prepared pan.
Evenly distribute remaining roughly chopped chocolate chunks over the surface of batter.
Bake 35-40 min or until sides of brownies begin to pull away from sides of pan.
Once done remove pan and place on rack to cool. meanwhile place the finely chopped chocolate in a bowl and melt , then drizzle over cooled brownies and smile because life is good!
Leave a Reply

