SECRETS ABOUT FOOD AND HOW YOUR PLATE COLOR IS KILLING YOU

heart food love

It was 2004 I was laying on my boyfriends dorm bed watching “Super Size Me.” You weren’t expecting that now were you. There were a million things we could have been doing at that time but we were together watching a documentary about a guy named Spurlock who was consuming McDonald’s three times per day, eating every item on the chain’s menu at least once.

In essence that documentary was my personal tipping point. It opened my eyes to what was in the foods we were eating and from there it snowballed into my life now. Here is how my personal health journey  has looked.

RECAP TO WELLNESS
1. In 2003 I tasted Organic milk then started questioning why certain things were labeled organic and others were not. I then proceeded to become horrified by what was in my food. I questioned everything.

2. I started reading ingredient labels and shopping the perimeter of the stores. Have you ever noticed that the end aisle and inside aisle of the grocery stores are full of processed canned, bagged, or plasticized junk foods. Its best to steer clear. The first two ingredients to go were Hydrogenated Oils and High Fructose Corn Syrup and anything I could not pronounce. Which lead me to only eating things with 7 ingredients or less. Preferably only 5 ingredients on the label. 2004

3. I stopped drinking all carbonated drinks, sodas, pops, or any sugar drinks and stopped eating at fast food restaurants all together. 2004

4. I started shopping local, organic, and farmers markets became my best friend. 2005

5. 2007 I discovered Crazy Sexy Cancer (documentary) bought the book and started following here regimen.

6. 2007 I found Gillian McKeith and bought the book and started following her ideas which are amazing as well gillianmckeith.com/your-body/food/

7. I started questioning what was in my body products, if they were putting preservatives in my food what were they putting in my lotion, deodorant, and toothpaste? 2007

8. In 2011 I challenged myself to become a vegetarian for four days. I loved eating a plant based diet so much that it stuck. I felt like a feather and unintentionally lost 5 lbs it was magical. You just feel good.

9. 2012 I changed all of my body care products over to Simply Birgit and I even created our own brand line for our band THE BERGAMOT with Birgit here

10. 2014 I exercise 4 times a week for 1.5 hours and daily indulge in a plant based diet full of vibrant colors and foods on my plate. I pull recipes from the raw, vegan, vegetarian and pescatarian worlds. PS a pescatarian, occasionally used to describe those who abstain from eating all meat and animal flesh with the exception of fish. I also am the proud owner of a Hurom Slow Juicer and the Vitamix Professional 500 these have changed my life.

The most important lesson here is what color is the food on your plate? Check this out
color plate verse no color pic

Can you see the difference? A good note to self,  if your plate is not bursting with natural colors than your not getting the good nutrients you need.

Eat a plate full of colors and you will feel great. If you eat foods that are Khaki colored that means you are not getting any nutrients, which for you = sad day for you.

The best part of life in America is we have free will to make our own decisions and have the power to choose. It took me a decade to get where I am at today and it is an ever changing evolving journey. I will continue to grow and expand and I invite you into the process too. It is so fulfilling and you will never regret feeling vibrant and full of energy everyday.

Please leave comments below I would love to hear from you.

Shine ON

5 comments

  1. Dear Jillian, I find what you say very interesting and I will try for a week not to eat meat and only to eat colorful and natural products, I will give you some news about it! On my behalf, I noticed that gluten flour are somehow bad for the health, every time I stop eating food with it I feel so much better!

    1. I am very interested to see how you feel after you give up meat for one week. Keep track of your efforts. And yes gluten is a tricky one. It is good in moderation say twice a week. OK, I must be on my way looking forward to talking soon. Shine ON

  2. Hey Jillian! Thanks again for playing at FA Woodstock! It was a great night. I can’t seem to find where you had your friends recipe for her homemade granola bars. Would you mind sending me the recipe?
    Thanks! Be well.
    Jami

    1. http://thebergamotmusic.wordpress.com/2014/03/28/this-is-what-happens-when-your-starving/ here is the link sweetie. Also,
      /// CANDACE’S FRIENDSHIP GRANOLA BARS ///

      2 c. oatmeal (I prefer old-fashioned, but instant works too)
      ½ c. whole-wheat flour *
      ½ c. white flour (I prefer unbleached white whole wheat flour)
      ½ c. wheat germ
      ¾ c. Brown Sugar
      ½ c. oil
      ½ c. honey
      1 egg
      ¾ tsp. salt and cinnamon
      1 tsp. Vanilla
      ¼ c. (or estimate with a spoon) peanut butter **
      ½ – 1 c of special ingredients (m&m’s, chocolate chips, raisins, craisins, dried fruit, flax seeds
      (ground) nuts and/or seeds of your choice, etc)

      Grease 7×11” pan or 9×13” set aside.

      Mix all ingredients in a bowl. Add in ½ – 1 c. of special ingredients (m&m’s, chocolate chips,
      raisins, craisins, dried fruit, nuts and/or seeds of your choice, etc). My family also likes to add ½
      c. Peanut butter for flavor and protein. Mix in until combined.

      Bake at 350 F.
      For 7×11” pan bake for 32 minutes. Cut immediately then cool.
      For 9×13” pan bake for 25 minutes. Cut immediately then cool.

      Enjoy! 

      *For Gluten-Free substitute GF Oatmeal, and a combo of GF flour such as almond, garbanzo
      bean, or Gluten-Free All-Purpose Baking Mix (Bob’s Red Mill).
      ** I find that peanut butter gives it a nice gooey texture with nice flavor

      Shine ON

Leave a Reply

